Posted on

Kumite

Today’s class showed me two things 1. I don’t enjoy kumite and 2. I need to go back to dance.  Let me explain.

There’s something about kumite that the more I do it the more I don’t enjoy it.  I’m generally not good at it for a start but two, whenever there’s an attack I feel as though what I really want to do and what I’ve been training myself to do is more application/bunkai and what the rules dictate you are supposed to do in return are very different.  Lately, I’ve really enjoyed our bunkai and self-defense lessons as it gives you the chance to see if what you can do what you believe you can do.  If something doesn’t work the first try it is a more fluid fight and you are able to adjust and try something else.  The time it takes you to adjust shows you how much you really know.  I know there must be a purpose to doing kumite or it would not be asked of me therefore I will put some time away to practice this while practicing my katas.

The second point about dancing is something I need to start doing sooner rather than later.  During this class we also did some bunkai.  Here I felt as though my body wasn’t moving like it used to.  I had to think about where to put my feet like a bull trying to be graceful; it was horrible.  I remember when this wasn’t a problem for me and that was back when I was still a part of a dance team at my university.  When you practice dance a few times a week and then go to karate three times a week, whether you like it or not it influences each other.  Your dance moves are a little stronger, you have more snap and feel centered and balance, and on the other hand your katas flow differently and when you move during bunkai your feet just move.

So my two new things to practice, kumite and dancing.  Maybe even take up Okinawa folk dance lessons to save some time.

About Alisa Stefanie

A practitioner of karate using lessons learned in class, through books and other means of research to discover the 'do' in Karate-do.

2 responses to “Kumite

  1. Hello. magnificent job. I did not anticipate this. This is a splendid story. Thanks!

Leave a comment